Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Awards and Grants

Administrative Professional Contribution Award

Nominations open Monday, February 19th, for the 2018 AP Contribution Award

Each year, we recognize an Administrative Professional employee’s exceptional contributions to WSU and their area or unit with the AP Contribution Award. We define “exceptional” as beyond the expected or required performance,if an AP has made a unique difference, or if the AP had far-reaching, impelling or compelling impact to their work area.

Nominations highlight contributions made by the employee that address (but not limited to): productivity; innovative problem solving; positive working relationships; and/or university or community service.

This year nomination forms will open Feb. 19th and will remain open until March 23rd.  The awards will be given out May 10th during the APAC meeting.


For further information contact Gayle Anderson at or 335-8350.

The tenth annual AP Contribution Award Winners in 2017 were Kristina Peterson-Wilson in Pullman and Becki Meehan in Spokane. Congratulations to our award winners!

Kristina Peterson and Provost office staff
Kristina Peterson, middle, Wilson stands with Don Holbrook, Dan Bernardo, Ron Mittelhammer, and Jeannie Holt all who nominated her for her outstanding contributions to the WSU Provost’s Office.  Read nomination here


Becki Meehan and WSU Spokane staff
Becki Meehan, middle, stands with Jennifer Harris and Jessica Gerdes all who nominated her for her outstanding contributions to WSU Spokane. Read the nomination for Becki.


Congratulations to the honorable mentions for the AP Contribution Award as well:

Lisa Clyde, Sara Ackerson, Denise Echelbarger, Leslie Thompson, Anjie Bertramson, Jason Sampson, Denise Keeton, Jodi Anderson, Mysti Meiers, Kristy Gutierrez, Heather Johnson, Erin McIlraith, Sisouvanhy Keopanpay, Dave Hoyut, Brigitta Jozefowski, Kent Miller, Diane Wick, Deb Cox, Vicky Murray, and Susan Butts.

Past AP Contribution Award winners

Professional Development Mini-Grants

About the AP  Mini Grant  Fund (APMGF)

Professional development is highly valued by Washington State University and is supported by the  President’s and Provosts’ offices. The APMGF is a supplemental fund and is intended to provide matching funds in conjunction with the AP’s unit/department. The committee will disburse a maximum of $3,000 per fiscal year.

Maximum award amount: $250

Eligible applicants to receive a maximum of one award every two fiscal years.


Applicants must be permanent resident aliens or U.S. citizens and benefits-eligible (0.5 FTE or more) Administrative Professionals employed by Washington State University for at least six months prior to the start date of the planned activity.  Applicants must have their planned activity pre-approved by their supervisor and provide documentation as requested to the APMGF Committee.


Get the application form here (PDF).

Submit to Gayle Anderson at the APAC office by email at


Application for a pre-approved activity must be received by the deadlines specified during the Fall and Spring grant cycles.

Fall: October 31

Spring: April 30


Recipients will be chosen by an independent panel comprised of WSU Foundation members. All applicants will be notified of the panel’s final decision via email.

Staff Scholarship Fund

APAC sponsors a staff scholarship fund, which provides financial assistance to WSU staff or their immediate family.

To contribute, visit the WSU Foundation.